Centre to induct four into Hall of Fame

October 16, 2003

Centre College will induct four new members into its Athletic Hall of Fame Saturday before the homecoming football game with Maryville College. The new inductees will be honored at a ceremony at the Norton Center for the Arts beginning at 11 a.m.

The following former athletes are to be honored:

* Herb McGuire

McGuire was a versatile athlete and legendary coach at Centre. McGuire played on the undefeated 1955 football team. He lettered in football, golf, and track and later coached at Centre for forty years. He was a head coach in football, baseball, men's and women's track, and cross country. McGuire's teams won conference championships in football, baseball, and golf. He also started women's golf at Centre and was instrumental in the formation of the cross country team.

* Coby DeVary

DeVary lettered in basketball from 1983-86 and is Centre's all-time assist leader with 451. DeVary was all-conference for three years, scoring 1,095 points and leading Centre to four consecutive conference championships. He was named MVP at the NCAA South Regional Tournament in 1985 and was Honorable Mention All-American in 1986. Centre made four NCAA appearances during his career.


* Powell Gillenwater

Gillenwater was one of Centre's finest all-around athletes, lettering four years in football and tennis. He also lettered two years in basketball, earning first team All-Kentucky Intercollegiate Athletic Conference honors. Gillenwater was captain of the 1954 football team and captain of the 1955 tennis team. He won the singles championship of the KIAC in 1955 and the Colonels captured three out of four conference titles during his career.

* Terri Smith Mayhew

Smith Mayhew was an outstanding athlete who participated in basketball, softball, field hockey, and track. She lettered three years in basketball and field hockey and lettered two years in softball and track. Smith was a Regional All-American in field hockey, leading the team in scoring for two seasons, and was named all-conference. She was also named to the Kentucky Women's Intercollegiate Conference all-tournament team. Smith won the conference MVP Award for track in 1985. She received the Briscoe Inman Memorial Award for the most letters earned in the class of 1985.

Central Kentucky News Articles