Engleman shares SCAC offensive honor

November 23, 2003

SUWANEE, Ga. - Lorenzo Engleman, who led Centre College in rushing and receiving this season, has been named a Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference co-offensive player of the year.

Engleman received one of four player of the year honors in voting by the league's head coaches, the conference announced Friday. He shares the offensive player of the year award with Rhodes quarterback Daniel Swanstrom.

Engleman, a senior running back from Cincinnati, led the SCAC in all-purpose yardage, averaging 176.9 yards per game, and became the first running back to lead the league in receptions in 16 years.

He tied for the league lead in receptions (69 for 633 yards) and finished second in both rushing (975 yards) and scoring (74 points). He was also third in punt returns with 6.7 yards per return.


The versatile Engleman, who had four rushing touchdowns and eight receiving touchdowns, was named SCAC offensive player of the week twice during Centre's 8-2 season.

Three of Engleman's teammates joined him on the all-SCAC first team: senior guard Patrick Newman, junior wide receiver David Crowley and senior safety John Ortega.

Crowley caught 46 passes for 567 yards and seven touchdowns, ranking second on the team in receiving behind Engleman. Ortega led the Colonels and was second in the conference in tackles with 110, including 81 solos and seven tackles for losses.

These 14 Centre players were voted to the second team or received honorable mention:

* Second team: quarterback Brian Behrendt, cornerback Jason Coleman, defensive end Brian Dougherty, linebacker Brian Downs, linebacker Nathan Fell, punter John Jennings, offensive tackle Justin Roe, wide receiver Adam Schneider, cornerback Kevin Tytus, linebacker Jarrod Zywien.

* Honorable mention: offensive lineman Thomas Dunn, safety Chad Loveless, defensive lineman Solomon Parker, wide receiver Nate Woodall.

Trinity defensive lineman Jarrod Smith was named the SCAC's defensive player of the year, and DePauw kick returner Jamarcus Shepherd was named special teams player of the year.

Joe White of Rhodes was named coach of the year.

Central Kentucky News Articles