Bate Middle wins Governor's Cup district championship

February 12, 2004

Bate Middle School is the Governor's Cup district champion for the fifth consecutive year.

Bate competed against Brookside Montessori Middle School, Boyle County Middle School, Garrard Middle School and Lincoln County Middle School Jan. 31.

Bate won the first-place school trophy for total amassed points with a score of 44 points, Boyle finished second with 42, Lincoln had 13, and Montessori and Garrard each had 7. Bate's quick recall team won first place again, going undefeated for the day in the double elimination tournament.

Bate's future problem solving team won first again this year as well.

Both the future problem solving and quick recall teams, and several other Bate students that comprise the entire Governor's cup team, will advance to regional competition Feb. 19 and 21.


Participants and the areas in which they were tested:

Mathematics: John Liu, second.

Social studies: Hunter Kendrick, seventh, and Drew Taylor, 10th.

Art/humanities: Rachel Beckman, first; Hunter Kendrick, third; and Kyle Snapp, sixth.

Language arts: Rachel Beckman, second; Joseph Fons, fifth; and Taylor Foster, 1Oth.

Science: Cole Steber, second; Anderson Salinas, fourth; and John Liu, fifth.

Composition: Matt Schulz, third; Nick Spann, fifth; and Ashley Howe, ninth.

Future problem solving team members were Caroline Stroup, Jessica Davis, Taylor Brown and Katie Goggin. Alternates were Nick Wade and Gretta Gooch.

Quick recall team members were Rachel Beckman, Hunter Kendrick, John Liu, Anderson Salinas, Joseph Fons, Taylor Foster, Drew Taylor, Cole Steber, Kyle Snapp, Jessica Newcomb, Jane Morrison, Maggie Pence, Joe Will, Chris Oster, Alec Deluca, Nick Nelson, Cory Carney, Byron Hempel, Anna Meurer, Jamie Mohan, Tyler Smith, John Austin Coulter and Tucker Arnett.

Central Kentucky News Articles