April 19 is deadline for voter registration for May primary

March 31, 2004|GARY MOYERS

The deadline to register to vote in the May 18 primary election in Kentucky is April 19, and registrants have several options from which to choose.

But Boyle County Clerk Denise Curtsinger advises the surest method, with time running short, is to go to your local county clerk's office.

"The deadline is only about two weeks away, and to be safe, I'd advise people to go to the clerk's office and register in person," she said. "That way they can be sure they're eligible and approved."

Eligible people can request the forms be mailed to them, they can register online, and registration forms are available at many other offices, including the driver's license bureau, social services offices and military recruiting stations.


Voters in Kentucky will see a wide slate of offices and candidates on the primary ballot. Topping the list is the state's presidential primary. President George Bush is the only Republican on the state ballot, but nine Democrats - John Kerry, John Edwards, Dennis Kucinich, Wesley Clark, Lyndon La Rouche Jr., Howard Dean, Joe Lieberman and Al Sharpton - fill out the Democratic slate. Kerry has already secured enough delegates to win the Democratic nomination at the party's convention this summer.

Metcalf running against Bunning

In the race for U.S. Senator, Republican incumbent Jim Bunning faces opposition from Barry Metcalf, formerly of Garrard County and now of Richmond. On the Democratic side, the candidates include Daniel Mongiardo, Hazard, and David L. Williams, Glasgow.

Democrat Ben Chandler won a special election race against Alice Forgy Kerr earlier this year to fill the Sixth District Congressional seat vacated by Governor Ernie Fletcher in November. Chandler has opposition on the ballot in Lexington's Margaret Kannensohn, while Republican State Senator Tom Buford will face Don Swarthout, Lexington, and Bryan Samuel Coffman, Lexington.

Locally, Republican incumbent Mike Harmon, Junction City, faces no primary opposition in the race for 54th District state representative. David Sparrow, Danville, has filed for that seat as a Democrat and has no primary opponent. The two will face each other in November.

Republican incumbents Jimmy Higdon, Lebanon, and Lonnie Napier, Lancaster, face no primary opposition in the races for 24th and 36th District state representative, respectively, and will have no opposition in the November general election.

Jack Coleman is retiring this year as 55th District state representative, and the list to replace him includes five candidates. Floyd Adams, Salvisa, and Sharon Clark, Harrodsburg, will run on the Democratic side, while Milward Dedman, T.A. Green, and Louis Dean Sr., all of Harrodsburg, will be the Republican candidates in the primary.

Nine candidates for Danville city commission

There are also nine candidates running in the Danville city commission race. They include: Alex Stevens, Jimmy Lehman, Tom McKune, Gordon Howe and Kevin Caudill, along with incumbents Ryan Owens, Jamey Gay, Chester Kavanaugh and Terry Crowley. Stevens is a former mayor and commissioner.

There will be no local candidates on the Casey or Garrard county ballots in the May primary. Non-partisian candidates for Liberty City Council and Casey County school board have until Aug. 10 to file papers to run in the November general election.

Seven people - including five incumbents - will vie for the six open seats on the Lancaster City Council in the general election in November

In Mercer County, the only contested race in May will be for county judge-executive. Incumbent John Trisler, who was appointed by then Gov. Paul Patton to succeed the late Charles McGinnis, is being challenged by magistrate Larry Peyton.

No Republican filed for the job.

The four incumbents were the only people to file for election to Harrodsburg City Commission, so they are, in essence, re-elected. They are Kevin Perkins, Jack Springate, Eddie Long and Joe Hood.

Persons wishing to register online may visit to download the form and deliver it to the county clerk's office.

Central Kentucky News Articles