22 area students named Governor's Scholars

April 25, 2004

Juniors from eight area high schools have been selected to participate in the 2004 Governor's Scholar program.

The 22 area students were among 1,000 juniors to be selected out of approximately 1,600 recommended by high school officials.

To be eligible for nomination and selection, a student must be in the 11th grade at the time of selection and be enrolled in a public or private high school accredited with the state of Kentucky, be a current resident of Kentucky, intend to return to his or her present school district for the next school term and have taken the ACT, PSAT or SAT test. There is no minimum score requirement.

The Governor's Scholars Program provides a five-week, residential summer program for outstanding Kentucky students completing their junior year in high school. Established in 1983, the program offers opportunity for academic and personal growth through non-traditional experiences balancing a strong liberal arts program with a full co-curricular and residential life experience. Those selected attend the program free of charge.


The application consists of Academic Profile, Student Profile, Teacher Recommendations, and Writing Entry. Each school must select its nominees and then send them to the district level. Each school district sends its allotted nominees to the state level. A statewide selection committee blindly reads the applications and makes final decisions about who will attend the program.

In 2004, the Governor's Scholars Program will be held on three different campuses: Bellarmine University, June 20-July 24; Eastern Kentucky University, June 26-July 30; Centre College, June 27-July 31.

Area students selected to participate this summer include:

Boyle County High School: Adam Dickinson, Ryan Dickinson, Jessica McQuerry and Alia Samhat.

Burgin High School: Ashton Inden, Susannah Green and Jessica Allen.

Casey County High School: Patrick Helm, Heather Cundiff and Andrea Dykes.

Danville High School: Charlotte Crowley, Stephan Crown-Weber, Mauricus Lofton, Petra Rasmussen and David Stroup

Garrard County High School: Will Stevens.

Harrodsburg High School: Adam Jeffrey Gray.

Lincoln County High School: Sean Patrick Lear, Joanna Elizabeth Howerton and Cassie Marie Barnett.

Mercer High School: Chris Lebanion and Vanessa Brost.

Central Kentucky News Articles