Four area players earn all-regional honors

April 28, 2004

LONDON - Four area players - Lincoln County's Jonathan True and Chris Hart, Danville's Chad Bartleson and Boyle County's Blake Jones - have been named to the 12th Region Coaches Association All-Region team.

Eleven area players were also named to the region all-academic team, including Jones and Hart.

Players, coaches and special contributors who were named to the 12th Region Hall of Fame were also honored again during the awards banquet here.

Lincoln County representatives did not attend the banquet after a miscommunication with association president Roscoe Denney, an assistant coach at South Laurel.

"I want to issue a deep and sincere apology to Lincoln County schools, their basketball coaching staff, players, administration and especially parents," Denney said. "They did not receive the e-mail notifying them of the banquet. For that, I accept full responsibility and blame."


Other honorees include:

All-academic team - Sean Bottoms, Burgin; Jason Chadwick, Mercer County; Jake Cool, Garrard County, Joe Harris, Burgin; Chris Hart, Lincoln County; Blake Jones, Boyle County; Justin Kolasa, Lincoln; Coy Lucas, Garrard; Robbie Merriman, Harrodsburg; Josh Patterson, Casey County; and Derek Vonckx, Boyle.

All-region team - Walt Allen, South Laurel; Nathan Bray, Somerset; Brandon Cross, Pulaski County; Eric Fields, South Laurel; Jarrod Gibbons, Wayne County; Tyrone Green, Wayne; Steven Sexton, Wayne; Lucas Waters, McCreary Central.

Coach of the year - Rodney Woods, Wayne County.

Official of the year - Mike Black.

Players Hall of Fame inductees - Leonard Coulter, Danville; Jack Coleman Sr., Burgin; Larry Hurt, Garrard County; David Hamilton, Kentucky School for the Deaf; Dennis Johnson, Harrodsburg; and Derek Springate, Boyle County.

Coaches Hall of Fame inductees - Roger Meek, Lincoln County; and Barry Welty, Harrodsburg.

Contributors Hall of Fame inductees - Jack Upchurch, Lincoln County; and Tom Hurt, Garrard County.

Central Kentucky News Articles