Mercer grads advised to rise to the occasion

June 01, 2004|ANN R. HARNEY

HARRODSBURG - The 129 members of the Mercer County High School Class of 2004 received their diplomas Friday night at a ceremony held in the school's gymnasium.

Members of the class took leading roles in the ceremony. Cala Nicole Alford welcomed those in attendance. "I believe I speak for the class as a whole when I say we are glad you have joined us for this night of remarkable recognition."

Four students made senior addresses during the ceremony. Daniel Caden Cromwell thanked the men and women who have defended this country and those who will in the future, including members of the Class of 2004, who allow the rest of us to carry on our lives in a free country.

Jonathan Ratliff told fellow graduates that at the end of their public school careers, class members will have to decide on their own which road each will take into the future. "Listen to your own wise and knowing voice. Demand nothing less than everything. Life has big plans for you!!!"


Josh Potter's speech took a humorous tone: "This is one of the proudest moments in our lives and we have to wear a dress," he said of the traditional gown worn by graduates.

Tim Daily said that while some classmates are sad to be leaving, he is ready to take on the future. "The most inspiring quality that this class possesses is the desire to succeed. ... The world is waiting for us to go out and rise to the occasion."

Jessica Cinnamon's closing remarks included thanks to the class members' parents and the school's faculty and staff. "You've played a vital role in our growing up and our development as people. Words cannot express our absolute appreciation of you and all you've done for us."

Laura Elizabeth Durr gave the invocation, Jeffrey Blake Rogers pronounced the benediction and introductions were made by Courtney Renee Watts and Zachary Grant Ethington. Leslye Carol Johnson was the soloist in "There You Are'' and Lee Ann Lynn sang "Please Remember;" Lesley Mae Walker was the soloist in "Legacy," and Sarah Jordan Ballard was the soloist in "I Hope You Dance."

The graduates

The members the Mercer County High School Class of 2004 are:

Cala Nicole Alford, Stephanie Laina Rae Ammons, Blake Evans Bailey, Mary Amanda Baker, Maurice Trenton Baker, Sarah Jordan Ballard, John William Beauchamp, Brittany Renee Bottom, Heather Michelle Brothers, Anthony Michael Burns, Roland Chalmers Bustin, Hannah Estelle Camic, Sarah Elizabeth Campbell, Joshua Lee Cannon, Jason Leon Chadwick, Christopher Dwayne Chasteen, Erica Lynn Chatham, Michael Wayne Chilton, Jessica Ann Cinnamon, Ryan Matthew Clark, Whitnie Elisse Clark, Brandon Scott Coffman, Leonard Franklin Coleman, Brittany Morgan Collier, Joshua Douglas Collier, Matthew Lee Craig, Daniel Caden Crowell,

Timothy Lynn Dailey, Aimee Mae Day, Jeremy Darrell Dickerson, Dustin Allen Dunning, Laura Elizabeth Durr, Joshua Michael Edwards, Erik William Ekstrom, Foster Bruce Elliott, Stephen Lynn Elliott Jr., Zachary Grant Ethington, Meghann Laura Followell, Nathan Lynn Gooch, William Brett Goodlett, Jessica Lee Harmon, Emily Ann Harp, Ciara Chanelle Hawes, Whitney Michelle Hill, Brian Charles Hislope, Jacquelyn Nicole Hobbs, Sara Elizabeth Hodges, honorary member Sabine Hoffman, Patrick Daniel Holt, Krysta Marie Honchel, Brandon Craig Leigh Horn, Elizabeth Ashley Howard, Leslye Carol Johnson, Kimberly Dawn Karr, Leslie Nicole Keller,

Chad Michael Kenney, Whitney Lynn Kidd, Ajaye Michael Kolbe, Seth Christopher Lamar, Christopher Lee Lawson, Brandy Nicole Liskey, Lee Ann Lynn, John Michael Lyons, Jessica Lynn Marksbury, Courtney Jane Martt, Nathan Lee Mayes, Michael Woodrow McCoy, JoHannah Reeves McKinney, Corey Douglas Milburn, Cory Douglas Miller, Kyle Hardin Moore, Shane Prentice Moss, Ashley Elyse Mullins, Billy Jack Nelson, Roy Lee Nelson, Celia Renee Newby, Tess Renee Newton, Courtney Lynne Nichols, Jayme Lynn Nichols,

Nathaniel Carl Thomas Nichols, Jeffrey Clay Noland, Channing Amonte Owens, Branden Lee Parker, Jeffery Todd Palmer, Kimberly Renee Patterson, John William Phillips, David Lynn Phillips Jr., Andrew Simpson Pike, Marlena Helen Pike, Steven Bradley Pinkston, Joshua Thomas Potter, Andrew Thomas Potts, Andrew Cameron Powell, Jessie Lee Raney, Jonathan Elver Ratliff, Hunter Zane Rawlings, John Thomas Rector, Michael Wesley Riley, Jeffrey Blake Rogers, Gary Lynn Ryan II, Victor Adam Schwartz, Ashlee Rae Sears, Glenn Allen Settles, Joy Lynette Shewmaker, Caleb Derrick Smith, Joanna L. Smith, LaKayla Joyce Smith, Kevin Stacy Smock Jr.,

Amanda Brooke Sowder, Timothy Wayne Sparks, Brittani Alene Stamper, Brittany Ann Taylor, Katie Elizabeth Thompson, Zachary Nicholas Tuggle, Jeffrey Clayton Turner, Tabitha Dawn Turner, Jonathan Allen Underwood, Lesley Mae Walker, Johni Leigh Warner, Spencer Trent Warner, Clifton David Watkins, Courtney Renee Watts, Megan Leigh Weaver; Jessica Lynn West, Tamera Jean Whitaker, Justin Dayle Wilham, Jess Aaron Williams and Dustin Woodrow Wilson.

Central Kentucky News Articles