Crowe tops Garrard hall of fame inductees

August 15, 2004|LARRY VAUGHT

LANCASTER - Gordon Crowe not only has a National Indoor Football League championship to his credit, but he now also has been selected for induction into the Garrard County High School Football Hall of Fame.

Crowe helped the Lexington Horsemen win the NIFL championship a week ago. On Aug. 27, he'll go into the Garrard hall of fame along with two other former Garrard players and one former Lancaster standout during halftime of the Garrard-Harrison County game.

This year's hall of fame class was picked by the Lion Pride Football Alumni Association, which started the Hall of Fame last year.

Also elected to the hall were Jeff Hester, Ronnie Daly and Marshall Johnson.

Crowe, a 1996 Garrard graduate, was the Kentucky Class A Player of the Year in 1995 when he earned first-team All-State honors as well as a berth on the Kentucky all-star team. He finished his prep career as Garrard's all-time leading tackler with 361 tackles.


Crowe signed with Kentucky and played 46 games with the Wildcats. He started his professional career in the German Football League and played two years there before joining the Horsemen last season.

Hester, a 1983 Garrard graduate, was one of Garrard's all-time best defensive players. He played at Morehead State, where he was a three-year starter where he was named the team's top linebacker his senior year. He returned to Garrard as an assistant coach in 1990. After seven years as an assistant under Jerry Perry, he took over as head coach in 1997 for four years. Hester is now an assistant coach at Boyle County.

Daly, a 1968 graduate, led Garrard to an undefeated 1967 season. He threw for 21 touchdowns and 1,200 yards his final season and had 45 career touchdown passes. Daly also averaged almost 40 yards per punt in 1967. He played one year of college football at Eastern Kentucky.

Marshall Johnson, a 1959 Lancaster graduate, was a five-year starter and helped the team go unbeaten in 1958, when it allowed only three touchdowns all season. He signed with Kentucky and was co-captain of the UK freshman team. He played both guard and linebacker before an injury ended his college career his sophomore year. However, he was still voted president of the team despite not being able to play.

Other nominees for the Hall of Fame this year were coach Jerry Perry, quarterback-linebacker Nick Sullivan, running back Wayne Lee and lineman Terry Dunn.

Central Kentucky News Articles