Two incumbents lose Junction City Council seats

November 03, 2004|LIZ MAPLES

The race for Junction City Council was tight Tuesday with only a handful of votes separating the winners from the losers.

Incumbents Jim Douglas, Dewayne Taylor and Donnie Goode will stay and be joined by newcomers Ronald Pemberton, Scott Terry and Kenny Baldwin. The council members will take their seats in January.

Incumbents Connie Vernon and Roberta Zeller and challenger Judy Reynolds were edged out of the race by fewer than 35 votes.

Results are complete, but unofficial from Boyle County Clerk Denise Curtsinger; 2,464 registered voters cast ballots in the race.

Most of the candidates crowded together at the courthouse Tuesday with Mayor G.G. Harmon, tallying the votes on sheets of legal paper.


Douglas, a residential builder and developer, captured the most votes, 461. Voters were allowed to choose six candidates.

Taylor had the second highest tally, 449. He was at the courthouse working his calculator.

"It's surprising," he said, referring to the upset of Zeller and Vernon. "I am looking forward to working with the new ones coming in to make Junction City better."

Terry, who works for emergency medical services, received 398 votes; Baldwin, a printer, 388; Pemberton, a retiree, 380; and Goode, a small business owner, 374.

Trailing were challenger Judy Reynolds, a homemaker, who received 353 votes, and incumbents Zeller, 342; and Vernon, 341.

Bush gets 62 percent

President George W. Bush won 62 percent of the votes cast in Boyle County with 7,762 votes. Democrat John Kerry received 37 percent, or 4,646 votes.

Independent candidate Ralph Nader had 52 votes or 1 percent. Other candidates Michael Peroutka had 16 votes and Michael Badnarik, 12.

There were 12,488 registered voters in Boyle who went to the polls Tuesday.

Incumbent U.S. Sen. Jim Bunning, a Republican, received 51 percent of the ballots cast in Boyle County or 6,177 votes, and Daniel Mongiardo, a Democrat, 49 percent or 5,806 votes.

Democrat candidate for U.S. Representative Ben Chandler captured 53 percent of the Boyle County ballots cast or 6,248 votes, and Republican Tom Buford had 5,408 votes or 46 percent. Other candidates Stacy Abner had 81 votes and Mark Gailey 42.

Boyle County voters matched the statewide trend, voting overwhelmingly to approve the constitutional amendment to forbid anyone but a man and a woman from marrying. There were 8,346 votes in favor of the amendment or 74 percent of those who cast ballots, and 2,937 against it or 26 percent.

No surprises in Perryville

There were no surprises in the uncontested Perryville City Council race. All of the incumbents, the only ones who filed, were voted back into office.

Anne Sleet received 214 votes; John Gentry, 174; Julie Clay and Dawn Hastings, both with 170; Larry Cox, 169; and Phillip Crowe, 168.

A total of 1,879 registered voters cast ballots in the Perryville race.

Danville voters put incumbents Paul Smiley and Steve Becker back on the Danville Board of Education in uncontested races. Smiley received 2,568 votes and Becker 2,471.

Boyle County Board of Education had one uncontested seat, District 5. Alane Mills had 851 votes cast for her. In District 1, Stephen Tamme edged out incumbent Ed Sleet by 137 votes. Tamme received 577 votes and Sleet 440. Incumbent Sharon Johnson won the District 4 seat with 720 votes. Challenger Randal Carter had 546 votes.

Boyle County Soil and Water Conservation District supervisors are Allen Goggin, W.G. Cooley, John Helm incumbents; and John Shewmaker.

Incumbent Jerry Little withdrew from the race in August.

Central Kentucky News Articles