Owens fails in re-election bid for Stanford City Council

November 03, 2004|EMILY BURTON

STANFORD - Stanford City Council will welcome two new faces, Scottie Ernst and Mike Southerland, while losing two longtime members.

Incumbents Geneva Owens and Ann Booth will not be returning. Booth chose not to run for re-election, and Owens fell 88 votes shy of retaining her seat Tuesday.

Ernst, with 739 votes, and Southerland, a former city police officer, with 725, will join incumbents Bobby Wilkinson, who received 859 votes; Jayme Phillips, 794 votes; Steve Lucas, 750; and Jamie Leigh, 677.

Winning the four seats on the Crab Orchard City Commission were Wayne Speake, 182 votes; Frankie Dyehouse, 175; Mae Agee, 166; and Johnnie Adams, 162. Candidate Dwight Hopkins missed the cut by only five votes, Ken Price received 123 votes; and Dwane White, 104.


Hustonville City Council seats were won by Robert Hicks Sr. with 93 votes, Jimmy Lane with 92 and John Reed with 73.

In the non-partisan Lincoln County Board of Education races, incumbent Tom Blankenship defeated challenger Jesse Ray Shelton; but incumbent David Hacker, who missed the filing deadline and waged a write-in campaign, was defeated by challenger Eddie Whittemore.

Blankenship won 674 to 602 over Shelton.

Hacker received only 13 votes to Whittemore's 1,105.

In District 4, Denny Hogue, won his unopposed race with 934 votes. He will replace Randy McGuffey, who did not seek re-election.

Burdette wins judge's race

In the non-partisan race for circuit judge in Lincoln, Pulaski and Rockcastle counties, Jeffrey Burdette defeated Scott Lawless to retain the seat.

Lincoln voters chose Burdette, a former county attorney in Rockcastle County, over Lawless 4,369 to 2,084.

While Pulaski County had yet to finalize its totals this morning, figures from Rockcastle and Lincoln counties showed Burdette with 7,875 votes and Lawless with 3,669.

On the state ticket, U.S. Representative for the 1st Congressional District Ed Whitfield received 1,426 votes to challenger Billy Cartwright's 800.

Sixth District U.S. Rep. Ben Chandler lead opponent Tom Buford by approximately 700 votes, with Stacy Abner and Mark Gailey gathering less than 60 votes each.

Court of Appeals Judge Michael Henry takes the bench over challenger Roderick Messer.

Lincoln Countians overwhelmingly supported the constitutional amendment to ban same-sex marriage: 7,000 to 1,051.

In the presidential election, Lincoln Countians chose Bush over Kerry by 3,200 votes.

In the race of U.S. senator, Lincoln County voters chose Bunning over Mongiardo by 1,175.

Central Kentucky News Articles