Turner, Record, Hawkins make first team all-state

December 01, 2004

LOUISVILLE (AP) - Hopkinsville quarterback Curtis Pulley and Danville running back Kelvin Turner top the Associated Press All-State football team, released Wednesday.

Pulley was also named the 2004 Mr. Football, beating out Turner and Elizabethtown quarterback Chris Todd.

The 5-foot-10 Turner was the state's eighth-leading rusher this season, averaging 176 yards per game and scoring 25 touchdowns. The Admirals have three straight state championships and go for a fourth against Beechwood on Friday.

Also making the first team offense from the area was defensive lineman Brandon Record of Boyle County, the Advocate's Lineman of the Year, and Danville defensive back Ronnie Hawkins.

On the second team from the area was Boyle County quarterback Brandon Smith, receiver Seth Tamme and linebacker Danny Commarford. Offensive lineman Masaak Tagarook of Danvillle made the third team.


The All-State team and Mr. Football were determined by 24 media members across Kentucky.

Pulley edges Smith

Pulley edged Smith by one vote - 6-5 - for first-team quarterback honors. The 6-1 Smith has guided Boyle County to a 10-2 record and the program's sixth straight 3-A title game. Smith threw 32 touchdown passes this season, completing 147 of 232 passes.

Turner earned 11 votes. Pulaski Southwestern running back Lee Renfro joined Turner in the first-team backfield, garnering eight votes. Renfro rushed for 223 yards and 34 touchdowns this season.

The rest of the first-team offense included Fleming County receiver Presley Marshall, Henderson County receiver Chris LaMar, Elizabethtown tight end Zipp Duncan and Murray kicker Tim Masthay. Duncan was the top overall vote-getter, earning 17.

The first-team offensive line included Murray's Cory Zirbel, Covington Catholic's Mike Donoghue, Trigg County's Kenny Ray Turner, Hopkinsville's Lavar Weston and Harlan's Jacob Anderson.

East Carter's Marc Messer was the first-team punter, earning 20 votes.

Hawkins a top vote-getter

Belfry defensive back David Jones and Danville defensive back Ronnie Hawkins were the top vote-getters on the first-team defense, earning 13 votes apiece. Paducah Tilghman's Lamar Alston and Henderson County's Ron Rapier also made the first-team secondary.

The first-team defensive front included Ballard's Earl Heyman, Madisonville-North-Hopkins' Blake Boyd, Boyle County's Brandon Record and Louisville Central's James McKinney.

The first-team linebacking corps included Lexington Catholic's Brandon Logan, Highlands' Jordan Nevels and Fort Campbell's Micah Johnson.

Bell County running back Shawn Robbins and Russell running back Josh Gross joined Brandon Smith in the second-team backfield. Robbins rushed for 187 yards per game and 27 TDs this year and Gross averaged 170 yards per game with 26 touchdowns.

The second-team defensive line include Elizabethtown's Brandon Deaderick, St. Xavier's Joe Tronzo, Henderson County's Marvin Trent and Lexington Lafeyette's Demar Shearer.

Todd led the third team after averaging 233.6 pass yards per game with 28 TDs this season.

The AP high school Coach of the Year, also selected by the media panel, will be announced on Thursday.

Central Kentucky News Articles